Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seahawks top Thoroughbreds 3-2; claim Thanksgiving Invitational Championship

Danny Eruzione was named Tournament MVP at the Skidmore Thanksgiving Invitational (Photo by Brett Wilkes)
Danny Eruzione was named Tournament MVP at the Skidmore Thanksgiving Invitational (Photo by Brett Wilkes)

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y.—The Salve Regina University men's ice hockey team earned a hard-fought 3-2 decision over Skidmore College in the Skidmore Thanksgiving Invitational Championship game Sunday evening at the Saratoga Springs City Rink.

With two of the region's top goalies in action, scoring figured to be limited. That held true with a scoreless first period. Salve had its best chance midway through the first. A Skidmore neutral zone turnover on a power-play, gave Seahawk Paul Boutoussov a breakaway with Thoroughbred goalie Brandon Kasel. Boutoussov faked right and tried to shoot left, but Kasel did take the bait and got his skate out for the save.

Skidmore had its best chance near the end of the period, when Adam Moodie ripped a shot from the point that hit the top left corner of the pipe. The Thoroughbreds were aggressive in the opening period with a 12-7 shot advantage.

During a 4-on-4, Vincenzo Renda gave Salve the lead from Brent Hill and Danny Eruzione at 1:56 of the second. Renda made it 2-0 on a delayed penalty at 5:06 from Eric Lipa.

Skidmore took advantage of a pair of ill-timed Seahawk Penalties to get on the board at 18:13. Brandon Borges fired a shot that Matt Muzykapounded in on the rebound in front of the net. Austin Rook had the second assist.

The Thoroughbreds tied it 2-2 at 4:17 of the third when Tim Allen won a faceoff to the left of Salve goalie Blake Wojtala. Allen then fired a shot that Muzyka redirected past Wojtala for his sixth goal of the season.

The Seahawks went back in front when Eruzione took a cross-ice pass from Colin Clapton and got it past Kasel glove side for a 3-2 lead at 7:00.

Muzyka appeared to have tied the game off a scramble in front of the net late in the period, but the officials conferred and waved the goal off.

Skidmore had a few additional chances late, but Wojtala stood his ground for the 3-2 final.

The Thoroughbreds had a 35-34 edge in shots and went 1-6 on the power play. Salve was 0-5.

Kasel totaled 31 saves, while Wojtala had 33.

Muzyka and Borges represented Skidmore on the All-Tournament team. Eruzione was tournament MVP and joined Renda and Wojtala on the All-Tournament team. Dakota Ulmer from Bryn Athyn and Evan Lugo from Post rounded out tournament honors.

Salve Regina (6-1-1, 4-1-1 CCC) returns to action on Friday, November 30, when it travels to face Becker College in a Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) matchup at 7 p.m.