Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
7:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
3:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
7:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
5:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Fri Feb 01
7:05 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
5:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Fri Feb 01
7:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
2:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
4:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
1:00 PM
Adams St.
Salve Regina
Wed Mar 13
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Colorado Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Simmons
Salve Regina
Mon Mar 04
5:00 PM
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
7:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Second straight shutout for Salve Regina men's soccer

Michael Payan
Michael Payan

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. – The Salve Regina University men's soccer team posted a 3-0 shutout victory over host Bridgewater State University on Monday afternoon at Swenson Field.

Three different players scored for the visiting Seahawks who improve to 3-1 on the young season. The Bears fall to 1-2 with the setback. 

Freshman forward Owen Stevenson (Middletown, Conn.) opened the scoring in the 39th minute. Stevenson slipped a shot inside the left post from ten yards out off a feed from junior midfielder Matthew O'Donnell (Pittsburgh, Pa.). The Seahawks would take the 1-0 advantage into the break.

Sophomore midfielder Donald Igo (Needham, Mass.) staked the visitors to a 2-0 lead in the 56th minute with sophomore midfielder Evan MacDonald (Candia, N.H.) picking up the assist. MacDonald sent a long volley to the 18. Igo beat both a defender and the oncoming keeper to the ball and one-touched a shot into the unguarded net.

O'Donnell capped off the scoring with an unassisted tally in the 63rd minute as he beat the BSU keeper from 35-yards out with a shot into the top-left corner.

The Seahawks held the edge in play from start to finish as they outshot the Bears by a margin of 18-6 and held an 8-2 edge in corner kicks. 

Junior goaltender Michael Payan (Fort Lee, N.J.) was forced to make just two saves as he recorded his first shutout of the season for the visitors. BSU sophomore netminderNate Morgado (Dartmouth, Mass.) turned aside five shots in the setback.

The Bears open Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) play on Saturday when they travel to Salem State University for a five o'clock game with the Vikings. The Seahawks open Little East Conference (LEC) play on Wednesday afternoon when they host UMass Dartmouth at four.