Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
7:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
3:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
7:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
5:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Fri Feb 01
7:05 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
5:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Fri Feb 01
7:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
2:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
4:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
1:00 PM
Adams St.
Salve Regina
Wed Mar 13
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Colorado Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Simmons
Salve Regina
Mon Mar 04
5:00 PM
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
7:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Igo nets two to push Seahawks past Nor'easters 3-2

Igo nets two to push Seahawks past Nor'easters 3-2

SEAHAWK MEN'S SOCCER RESULTS
Salve Regina 3, U. of New England 2
Middletown, R.I. - Gaudet Field
Sunday, October 15, 2017

Summary
Sophomore midfielder Donald Igo (Needham, Mass.) scored two goals in the second half to power the Salve Regina University men's soccer team past the University of New England in a Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) matchup.

Series and Streaks
Salve Regina leads the all-time series, 14-4-1, with the lone draw coming in 2016 at Biddeford, Maine (0-0 in double overtime). The Seahawks' current seven-game unbeaten streak ranks second behind an eight-game win streak in 2012.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Salve Regina sophomore Donald Igo scored in the 53th and 74th to give the Seahawks the final 3-2 edge.
  2. UNE junior Lee Esposito (Niskayuna, N.Y.) scored twice for the visitors in the span of 1:28 in the first half to give the Nor'easters a 2-1 lead.
  3. Salve Regina junior Connor Woods (Otisville, N.Y.) opened the scoring with a strike in the 14th to give the Seahawks a 1-0 lead early.

Key Stat of the Game
The Seahawks held a 20-17 shot advantage and a 7-1 edge in corners.

Turning Point
Richie Liester (Navesink, N.J.) drove the ball from the right side towards the goal and it twisted away from the Nor'easters keeper and found the foot of Donald Igo who burried a point blank look to knot the game 2-2. Later the Seahawks were awarded a free-kick from outside the 18. Evan MacDonald (Candia, N.H.) faked a kick, then Igo launched the ball to the net, tucking it inside the left post for a 3-2 Seahawks lead.

Quick Hits

  • The Nor'easters had a free-kick in the final minute, deep inside Seahawks territory but could not get a quality shot on net, and the Seahawks effectively ran off the remaining time in the game to secure the win.
  • Both keepers made six saves. Michael Payan (Fort Lee, N.J.) improves to 8-3-1 in net for Salve Regina while Nathan Delesdernier (Niantic, Conn.) falls to 2-7-0 for UNE.

Next Up
Salve Regina (9-3-3, 3-2-1 CCC) - plays at Nichols on Tuesday, October 17 (3 p.m.) in another CCC matchup.
U. of New England (2-13-0, 1-5-0 CCC) - hosts Curry on Wednesday, October 18 (4 p.m.).