Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seahawks cool off Colonels, 65-53

Laura Anne Dinan finished with 17 points, seven rebounds, three assists, and three steals against the Colonels. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Laura Anne Dinan finished with 17 points, seven rebounds, three assists, and three steals against the Colonels. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)

NEWPORT, R.I. - Salve Regina University women's basketball ran its winning streak over Curry College to 22 straight after a 65-53 Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) meeting at the Rodgers Recreation Center. The Seahawks and Colonels now have identical records through 15 games - both are 9-6 overall and 6-2 in CCC play.

Junior forward Shannon Griffith (West Hartford, Conn.) started the scoring at 18:28 to give Curry its only lead of the game. Salve Regina did not get on the scoreboard until a Laura Anne Dinan (Monterey, Mass.) layup at 16:45. Brianna Del Valle (Belchertown, Mass.) broke the tie with her layup 20 seconds later on a nice feed from Dinan.

Junior guard Meaghan Harden (Sandwich, Mass.) scored three of the next four Seahawk baskets as Salve Regina had its first double-digit lead at 12:01 in the first.

Another Griffith layup was followed by foul shots for senior guard Kylie Beltz (Pequot Lakes, Minn.) as Curry trimmed its deficit to six points. Kerry White's (Windham, Mass.) fastbreak layup, assisted by Beltz, made the score 19-13 in favor of Salve Regina. The home team then went on a 9-0 run with a 3-pointer for Harden and the layups for Del Valle (two) and Dinan (one).

Salve Regina had its largest lead of the game, 15 points, at 3:34 in the first, before the visitors finished the opening period with an 8-2 run.

Samantha Corcoran (Hampton, N.H.) had the first basket of the next period before Harden and Beltz exchanged 3-pointers. Harden's free throws at 11:50 put the Seahawks up by 13 (46-33), but the Colonels scored nine points in one minute, 26 seconds, to close within four (46-42). White went four-for-four from the charity stripe, scoring points with the clock stopped.

Salve Regina outscored Curry, 9-3, over the next four minutes and returned to a double-digit lead with Allyson Esielionis' (Shirley, Mass.) jumper at 3:46 (55-45).

The Colonels could only get as close as six points in the final three minutes. Harden had an old-fashioned three-point play at 1:26 to put the final margin in double figures.

Harden had a game-high 23 points and pulled down eight boards. Jillian Woodward (Orono, Maine) led all players with a dozen rebounds. Dinan (17) and Del Valle (14) also scored in double figures for Salve Regina.

Corcoran had a double-double with 13 points, 10 rebounds. Griffith also finished with 13 points.

Salve Regina plays at Western New England on Tuesday (5:30 p.m.) while Curry, losers of two straight, hosts first-place and two-time defending champion University of New England.