Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Roger Williams turns over Salve Regina for a CCC victory, 60-47

Jillian Woodward (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Jillian Woodward (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Play Video

SEAHAWK WOMEN'S BASKETBALL RESULTS

Roger Williams 60, Salve Regina 47
Newport, R.I. - Rodgers Recreation Center
Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Link to box score
http://salveathletics.com/sports/wbkb/2015-16/boxscores/20160127_58nc.xml

NEWPORT, R.I. - Mariah Nicholas (Acushnet, Mass.) came off the bench to lead all scorers with 15 points as Roger Williams University women's basketball defeated Salve Regina University, 60-47, in Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) action at the Rodgers Recreation Center.

Series and Streaks
Salve Regina leads the all-time series, 48-15, but seven of the 15 wins for Roger Williams have come since 2012. The teams have split the season series for the second time in last three years.

Three Stars of the Game
1 – Roger Williams sophomore Mariah Nicholas (Acushnet, Mass.) - scored a game high 15 points on six of 10 from the floor and three of five from the line.
2 – Roger Williams junior Katie Lowerre (Sharon, Mass.) - added a dozen points and grabbed six rebounds.
3 – Salve Regina junior Jillian Woodward (Orono, Maine) - started and contributed 13 points to lead the Seahawks; made seven of nine free throws.

Key Stat of the Game
Roger Williams converted Salve Regina turnovers (27) into 29 points.

Turning Point
After closing the first quarter with a four-point lead (12-8), Roger Williams outscored Salve Regina 12-3 at the outset of the second quarter. Angelica Ariola (Prospect, Conn.) converted an old-fashioned three-point play to put the visitors up by 13 (24-11) with 4:03 remaining in the first half.

Quick Hits

  • Roger Williams sophomore Teagan Dunn (Burlington, Conn.) had double-figure rebounds (10) with five at each end of the floor.
  • Salve Regina freshman Deanna McCarvell (New London, Conn.) came off the bench to score 11 points, all in less than two minutes of the fourth quarter, to cut the Seahawks' largest deficit (22 points) in half. Salve Regina trailed by just 11 points (51-40) with 4:49 remaining in the game.
  • Salve Regina had the edge on the boards, 46-36.
  • Neither team shot above 33 percent - Seahawks (14-52; 25.9%) and Hawks (19-58; 32.8%).

Quotes
"I'd like to give credit to Roger Williams, but I can't - they played terrible. We played much, much worse. It was a terrible game; we both turned the ball over. No matter what we did wrong we were still within striking distance." - Salve Regina head coach Cori Hughes

Next up
Salve Regina (7-10; 6-5 CCC) – Saturday, January 30 vs. Endicott College, 1 p.m.
Roger Williams (11-7; 8-3 CCC) – Saturday, January 30 vs. Western New England University, 1 p.m.