Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
7:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
3:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
7:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
5:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Fri Feb 01
7:05 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
5:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Fri Feb 01
7:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
2:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 09
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
4:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
1:00 PM
Adams St.
Salve Regina
Wed Mar 13
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Colorado Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Simmons
Salve Regina
Mon Mar 04
5:00 PM
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
7:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Salve Regina clinches postseason spot while eliminating Nichols

Mary Eden (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Mary Eden (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Play Video

SEAHAWK WOMEN'S BASKETBALL RESULTS
Salve Regina 72, Nichols 62
Newport, R.I. - Rodgers Rec. Ctr.
Saturday, February 11, 2017

Summary
NEWPORT, R.I. - Salve Regina University women's basketball won its third straight with a 72-62 decision over visiting Nichols College in Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) action at the Rodgers Recreation Center.

Each team had three players in double-figure scoring as junior Brooke Packard (Dudley, Mass.) led all players with 19 points including five 3-pointers. Junior Ally Esielionis (Shirley, Mass.) led the Seahawks with 15 points while senior Jillian Woodward (Orono, Maine) posted her first double-double of the season - 14 points, 11 rebounds.

Series and Streaks
The Seahawks have won 15 in a row against the Bison to stretch their dominance in the all-time series to 35-9.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Salve Regina senior Jillian Woodward (Orono, Maine) posted her first double-double of the season with 14 points and 11 rebounds. She was four of six from the field and a perfect six-for-six from the free-throw line.
  2. Nichols junior Brooke Packard (Dudley, Mass.) sank five 3-pointers and finished with a game-high 19 points.
  3. Salve Regina junior Ally Esielionis (Shirley, Mass.) led the Seahawks with 15 points on seven-for-eight from the floor.

Key Stat of the Game
The Seahawks had 15 offensive rebounds which led to a 12-2 advantage in second-chance points.

Turning Point
Nichols erased a 15-point first-half deficit and went into halftime intermission with the score tied, 39-39. Ally Esielionis hit a jumper to open the third quarter that started a 23-7 run for the Seahawks; Esielionis had four baskets during the stretch. Torie Scorpio's (Cranston, R.I.) 3-pointer opening the fourth quarter gave Salve Regina its largest lead (62-46).

Quick Hits

  • Woodward became the sixth different Seahawk with a double-double in 2016-17; Mary Eden (So. Kingstown, R.I.) has two of the team's seven double-doubles this season.
  • Eden had her third straight game with double-digit rebounds (10).
  • Sophomore Liv Pierce (Tyngsboro, Mass.) finished with 12 points on five of seven from the floor.
  • Bison junior Alison Cerrato (Rockland, Mass.) had 13 points while Anna McDaniel (Taunton, Mass.) finished with 10 points.
  • Cerrato led the Bison with seven rebounds.

Next Up
Two games left in regular season for both teams; Salve Regina clinches postseason spot while Nichols is eliminated.
Salve Regina (8-15, 6-10 CCC) - Tuesday, February 14 at Endicott College, 5:30 p.m.
Nichols (2-21, 2-14 CCC) - Wednesday, February 15 at Eastern Nazarene College, 5 p.m.