Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cadets come back in final minutes to subdue Seahawks

Mary Rorke hit a pair of 3-pointers at the outset of the fourth quarter that gave Salve Regina its first lead of the second half. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Mary Rorke hit a pair of 3-pointers at the outset of the fourth quarter that gave Salve Regina its first lead of the second half. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - Norwich women's basketball picked up their first victory of the 2018-19 season on Sunday afternoon, defeating the Seahawks of Salve Regina University on day two of the Tyler Tip-Off Tournament at Smith College by a 62-59 final score. 

Salve Regina opened up the game in a rhythm, utilizing a 9-0 run to jump out to an 11-4 lead early. Norwich found their shooting stroke in the second quarter, however, shooting 46.7% from the field as a team in the second quarter. Senior Emily Oliver (Sagamore Hills, Ohio) went a perfect 3-3 from three-point land on her way to 11 points in the quarter, and Norwich entered the locker room at halftime up 31-27.

The game remained tight through the third quarter, as the Seahawks outscored the Cadets 14-12 in the quarter to narrow the Norwich lead to two points.

In the fourth, Mary Rorke (Norton, Mass.) hit 3-pointers on consecutive trips down the court to give the Seahawks a four-point lead, 47-43. A Rorke steal led to a layup for Torie Scorpio (Cranston, R.I.) and a five-point lead, 53-48 at 6:17. Mikayla Roderick (New Bedford, Mass.) hit a jumper at 2:51 for the last Seahawk lead, 55-53. The fourth quarter went back and forth, as the score was tied with just two and a half minutes to go. Mary Casamassa (Wexford, Pa.) hit a layup and Emily Oliver combined with Naomi Rinaldo (Middlefield, Conn.) to go 5-8 from the free throw line down the stretch to seal up the 62-59 victory.

Emily Oliver led the way with 21 points on 6-9 shooting from three-point territory, along with five rebounds, and was named to the All-Tournament Team for her efforts this weekend. Vanessa Fleury (Lebanon, N.H.) put up an 11 point, 11 rebound double-double, and Mary Casamassa  collected 15 points, nine rebounds, two steals, and two blocks. For Salve Regina, Rorke finished with nine points in 40 minutes and All-Tournament Team honors. Senior Tara Burke (Londonderry, N.H.) contributed 15 points in the loss.