Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
4:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
7:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
3:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
7:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
Tue Feb 05
5:30 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Sat Jan 19
4:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Fri Feb 01
7:05 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
5:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Fri Feb 01
7:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
2:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Wed Feb 27
4:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
4:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
1:00 PM
Adams St.
Salve Regina
Wed Mar 13
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Colorado Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Simmons
Salve Regina
Mon Mar 04
5:00 PM
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
7:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seahawks fall to Bison in OT

Angela Augusta (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Angela Augusta (Photo by Rob McGuinness)

HARRISVILLE, R.I. – Senior Emily Barden scored her first goal of the season 29 seconds into overtime to lift the Nichols College women's ice hockey team to a 3-2 win over Salve Regina University in non-conference action at Levy Rink Wednesday evening.

Junior Callie Jackson and freshman Mel McAleer also scored for the Bison, who snapped a 19-game winless streak against the Seahawks (2-11-0). They entered the contest 0-18-1 and had dropped every contest since earning a 4-4 tie back on February 11, 2012 at St. George's Rink in Middletown, R.I. Freshman Susanna Pearson scored both goals for the Seahawks. 

In OT, Nichols junior assistant captain MacKenzie Lyons played the puck off the boards to center ice, where Barden collected it and broke in alone on SRU junior goalie Jennifer O'Connell. Barden went to her backhand and appeared to lose the puck, but it trickled through the legs of O'Connell and over the goal line. The referees huddled briefly before signaling that a goal had been scored. 

McAleer staked the Bison (4-4-0) to a 1-0 lead with a power-play marker late in the first. She collected the puck at her own blue line, skated down the right wing, and ripped a shot high to the short side – her team-leading fifth goal of the season. Salve Regina tied the game at one with just three seconds remaining in the first period. Junior Taylor Chisholm was denied twice, but the second shot went behind NC junior goalie Cassandra Goyette, and Pearson knocked the puck into an empty net.

Jackson put the Bison ahead 2-1 at 5:13 of the third when she redirected a point shot from McAleer past O'Connell on the power play. The Seahawks pulled even when Pearson jammed the puck past Goyette from in close at 16:59.

Nichols outshot the Seahawks 14-8 in the third and finished the contest with a 35-30 edge. Goyette made 28 saves to earn her third win of the season while O'Connell fell to 2-11-0 with the loss. 

Salve Regina had a goal waived off in the third period after the referees determined Goyette lost her glove prior to the puck being put into the net.