Fri Aug 30
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Aug 30
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. York (Pa.)
@ Gettysburg, Pa. Gettysburg Tournament
Fri Aug 30
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Eastern Nazarene
Fri Aug 30
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Dickinson
@ Gettysburg, Pa. Gettysburg Tournament
Sat Aug 31
at Battle of the North Shore
@ Wenham, Mass. Gordon College
Sat Aug 31
at Battle of the North Shore
@ Wenham, Mass. Gordon College
Sat Aug 31
10:00 AM
Salve Regina
at Gettysburg
Gettysburg Tournament
Sat Aug 31
11:00 AM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Aug 31
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Messiah
@ Gettysburg, Pa. Gettysburg Tournament
Wed Sep 04
6:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
vs. Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
TBA
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
12:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 13
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Coast Guard
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Tue Nov 19
5:00 PM
Stevenson
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 23
1:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at St. Joseph (Conn.)
Sun Dec 01
1:00 PM
Dean College
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 13
TBA
Smith
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 16
1:00 PM
Coast Guard
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Nov 20
5:30 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
The Cave Classic
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Aug 31
at Battle of the North Shore
@ Wenham, Mass. Gordon College
Sat Sep 07
at RWU Invitational
@ Bristol, R.I. Roger Williams University
Sat Sep 21
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Oct 05
at Tri-State Invitational
@ Lincoln, R.I. CCRI
Sat Oct 12
at James Early Invitational
@ Westfield, Mass. Westfield State University
Sat Nov 02
at CCC Championship
@ Bristol, R.I.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Aug 31
at Battle of the North Shore
@ Wenham, Mass. Gordon College
Sat Sep 07
at RWU Invitational
@ Bristol, R.I. Roger Williams University
Sat Sep 21
at UMD Invitational
@ No. Dartmouth, Mass. UMass Dartmouth
Sat Oct 05
at Tri-State Invitational
@ Lincoln, R.I. CCRI
Sat Oct 12
at James Early Invitational
@ Westfield, Mass. Westfield State University
Sat Nov 02
at CCC Championship
@ Bristol, R.I.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Aug 31
11:00 AM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Sep 04
6:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 07
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at WPI
Thu Sep 12
6:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 14
12:00 PM
Dean
vs. Salve Regina
Thu Sep 19
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 07
12:00 PM
Norwich
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 14
12:00 PM
Montclair St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 21
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Dean
Sat Sep 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Oct 05
12:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Fall Festival Weekend
Sat Oct 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 01
6:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Plymouth St.
Fri Nov 08
6:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Sat Nov 09
3:05 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Albertus Magnus
Fri Nov 15
TBA
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Nov 16
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 01
TBA
Salve Regina
at William Smith
Sat Nov 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at William Smith
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Becker
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 09
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
TBA
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
TBA
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
5:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Aug 30
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Sep 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Sep 07
1:00 PM
Anna Maria
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Sep 11
4:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 14
12:00 PM
Mass.-Boston
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 17
6:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Coast Guard
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Aug 30
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Eastern Nazarene
Thu Sep 05
3:30 PM
Worcester St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 07
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Thu Sep 12
3:30 PM
Coast Guard
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 14
3:00 PM
Southern Me.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 25
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Wed Mar 25
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Sep 22
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Boston, Mass.
Sun Oct 13
TBA
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Wed Apr 01
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Mon Sep 09
4:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Sep 14
12:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Sep 18
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Gordon
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 24
TBA
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Sep 27
TBA
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
HOF Tourney - Rain Date
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Aug 30
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. York (Pa.)
@ Gettysburg, Pa. Gettysburg Tournament
Fri Aug 30
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Dickinson
@ Gettysburg, Pa. Gettysburg Tournament
Sat Aug 31
10:00 AM
Salve Regina
at Gettysburg
Gettysburg Tournament
Sat Aug 31
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Messiah
@ Gettysburg, Pa. Gettysburg Tournament
Sat Sep 07
1:00 PM
Smith
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Sep 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Connecticut Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Machado's magic salvages split for Seahawks versus Beacons

Maddie Machado helped the Seahawks walk-off with a victory in Game Two versus UMass Boston with an inside-the-park Grand Slam (Photo by Ed Habershaw).
Maddie Machado helped the Seahawks walk-off with a victory in Game Two versus UMass Boston with an inside-the-park Grand Slam (Photo by Ed Habershaw).

SEAHAWK SOFTBALL RESULTS
[1] UMass Boston 4, Salve Regina 1
[2] Salve Regina 11, UMass Boston 10
Newport, R.I. - Reynolds Field
Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Summary
NEWPORT, R.I. - The Salve Regina University softball team and UMass Boston split a pair of games in non-conference action Tuesday evening.

Series and Streaks
The Seahawks own a 7-6 record all-time versus the Beacons.

Three Stars of the Day

  1. Salve Regina junior Maddie Machado (Westport, Mass.) hit a walk-off, inside-the-park, grand slam to give the Seahawks the victory in game two. She scored three runs in the game.
  2. UMass junior Jess Greenspan (Rock Hill, Conn.) pitched a complete game in the first game, logging seven innings, striking out four and allowing just one run.
  3. UMass senior Roxanne Vento (Arlington, Conn.) went 3-for-3 in game one with three hits, including two doubles, a walk, and a run scored.

Key Stat of the Day
The Beacons stole seven bases in game one to help put players in scoring position. The Seahawks scored three or more runs in each of the final three innings of game two to go from down three, to winning.

Turning Points
In the first game a passed ball allowed Caley Ruggiero (Southbury, Conn.) to score from third for the Beacons in the top of the sixth. Gigi Braga (Medford, Mass.) followed that up with a single to score Ari Bilotta (Leominster, Mass.) and give the Beacons a 4-1 lead. Greenspan came back out in the seventh and got two groundouts and a strikeout as the Seahawks went 1-2-3 and UMass took game one.

In game two the Seahawks once again found themselves trailing 4-1, this time in the bottom of the fifth. Kendall Duprey (Cranston, R.I.) tripled to score three runs with the bases loaded and two outs to tie the game 4-4, however the Beacons added two more runs in the top of the sixth to retake the lead. In the bottom of the sixth Allie Gusmano (Orange, Conn.) led off with a single the advanced to second on a passed ball and scored on an Emilee Angell (Whitinsville, Mass.) single. Later, Angell would score on a single from Amanda Riley (Barrington, Conn.) and Maddie Machado would score on a sac-fly to give the Seahawks a 7-6 lead. The Beacons refused to go away and tagged the Seahawks for four more runs in the top of the seventh to put the Seahawks in a 10-7 hole. With their backs against the wall the Seahawks managed to load the bases with two outs, setting up Machado to win the game. Machado took a 1-2 pitch and drove it deep to right field and off the wall. All three base runners scored easily, then Machado, who was flying around the bases, turned the corner at third base and headed home. The throw from the outfield was short and late the third base and it ricocheted off the third baseman and into foul territory negating any possible play at the plate and Machado scored standing up to give the Seahawks a dramatic 11-10 victory.

Quick Hits

  • Jaycee Garrigan (Uxbridge, Mass.) pitched six innings in game one, allowing four runs on eight hits and striking out eight in the loss.
  • Julia Coute (North Dighton, Mass.) started game two for Salve Regina and went five innings allowing five runs on 11 hits and one strikeout.
  • Andi Nelson pitched one inning of relief in game one and earned the win in game two, pitching two innings of relief and striking out three while allowing five runs on four hits.
  • Hayley Catania (Amesbury, Mass.) started game two for the Beacons and went five innings and allowed seven runs on nine hits with a strikeout.
  • Cantania was relieved by Jayla Blackmon (Cambridge, Mass.) who went and inning and two thirds, allowing four runs, all on the Machado homer, and two hits in the loss.

Quote
"The experience, depth, talent, and grit of this team is special. It's rewarding and humbling to watch these big moments happen when your teams plays with deep passion and never gives up. They believe they can win every game and that is something you can't force or teach." - Salve Regina head coach Jannelle Iaquinto 

Next up
Salve Regina (6-9) – hosts Endicott on Saturday, March 30, at 12 p.m., for a doubleheader in the first Commonwealth Coast Conference games of the year for the Seahawks.
UMass Boston (8-8) – will travel to face Bridgewater State on Thursday, March 28, at 3 p.m.