Wed Jan 22
5:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Jan 22
7:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Sat Jan 25
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Jan 25
7:05 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Jan 28
7:00 PM
Connecticut Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 31
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 13
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Rensselaer
@ Auburndale Fla. RussMatt Invitational
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Jan 22
7:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Tue Jan 28
7:00 PM
Connecticut Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Jan 22
5:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Feb 05
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Feb 08
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Tue Feb 11
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Sat Jan 25
7:05 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 31
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Feb 01
8:00 PM
Becker
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Feb 07
7:15 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Feb 08
7:05 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Fri Jan 31
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Sat Feb 01
4:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Feb 07
7:15 PM
Anna Maria
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Feb 14
7:10 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Feb 25
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
7:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sun Mar 15
1:45 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Bowdoin
@ Clermont, Fla.
Sun Mar 15
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Stockton
@ Clermont, Fla.
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Farmingdale State
vs. Salve Regina
@ Clermont, Fla.
Tue Mar 17
12:30 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Franklin & Marshall
@ Clermont, Fla.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Tue Mar 31
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Apr 08
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Mon Apr 20
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cadets come back in final minutes to subdue Seahawks

Mary Rorke hit a pair of 3-pointers at the outset of the fourth quarter that gave Salve Regina its first lead of the second half. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Mary Rorke hit a pair of 3-pointers at the outset of the fourth quarter that gave Salve Regina its first lead of the second half. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - Norwich women's basketball picked up their first victory of the 2018-19 season on Sunday afternoon, defeating the Seahawks of Salve Regina University on day two of the Tyler Tip-Off Tournament at Smith College by a 62-59 final score. 

Salve Regina opened up the game in a rhythm, utilizing a 9-0 run to jump out to an 11-4 lead early. Norwich found their shooting stroke in the second quarter, however, shooting 46.7% from the field as a team in the second quarter. Senior Emily Oliver (Sagamore Hills, Ohio) went a perfect 3-3 from three-point land on her way to 11 points in the quarter, and Norwich entered the locker room at halftime up 31-27.

The game remained tight through the third quarter, as the Seahawks outscored the Cadets 14-12 in the quarter to narrow the Norwich lead to two points.

In the fourth, Mary Rorke (Norton, Mass.) hit 3-pointers on consecutive trips down the court to give the Seahawks a four-point lead, 47-43. A Rorke steal led to a layup for Torie Scorpio (Cranston, R.I.) and a five-point lead, 53-48 at 6:17. Mikayla Roderick (New Bedford, Mass.) hit a jumper at 2:51 for the last Seahawk lead, 55-53. The fourth quarter went back and forth, as the score was tied with just two and a half minutes to go. Mary Casamassa (Wexford, Pa.) hit a layup and Emily Oliver combined with Naomi Rinaldo (Middlefield, Conn.) to go 5-8 from the free throw line down the stretch to seal up the 62-59 victory.

Emily Oliver led the way with 21 points on 6-9 shooting from three-point territory, along with five rebounds, and was named to the All-Tournament Team for her efforts this weekend. Vanessa Fleury (Lebanon, N.H.) put up an 11 point, 11 rebound double-double, and Mary Casamassa  collected 15 points, nine rebounds, two steals, and two blocks. For Salve Regina, Rorke finished with nine points in 40 minutes and All-Tournament Team honors. Senior Tara Burke (Londonderry, N.H.) contributed 15 points in the loss.