Wed Jan 22
5:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Jan 22
7:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Sat Jan 25
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Jan 25
7:05 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Jan 28
7:00 PM
Connecticut Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 31
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 13
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Rensselaer
@ Auburndale Fla. RussMatt Invitational
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Jan 22
7:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Tue Jan 28
7:00 PM
Connecticut Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Jan 22
5:30 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
1:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Alumni Day
Sat Feb 01
1:00 PM
Western New Eng.
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Feb 05
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Feb 08
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Tue Feb 11
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Sat Jan 25
7:05 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Jan 31
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Feb 01
8:00 PM
Becker
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Feb 07
7:15 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Feb 08
7:05 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Jan 24
7:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Jan 25
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Fri Jan 31
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Sat Feb 01
4:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Feb 07
7:15 PM
Anna Maria
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Feb 14
7:10 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Feb 25
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
7:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sun Mar 15
1:45 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Bowdoin
@ Clermont, Fla.
Sun Mar 15
6:15 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Stockton
@ Clermont, Fla.
Mon Mar 16
5:00 PM
Farmingdale State
vs. Salve Regina
@ Clermont, Fla.
Tue Mar 17
12:30 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Franklin & Marshall
@ Clermont, Fla.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Tue Mar 31
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Apr 08
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Mon Apr 20
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Beland reaches milestone in loss to Golden Bears

Kerri Beland became the 14th Seahawk to score 1,000 career points with her second quarter basket; she finished with nine points in the game. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)
Kerri Beland became the 14th Seahawk to score 1,000 career points with her second quarter basket; she finished with nine points in the game. (Photo by Rob McGuinness)

SEAHAWK WOMEN'S BASKETBALL RESULTS
Western New England 53, Salve Regina 37
Rodgers Recreation Center - Newport, R.I.
Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Summary
NEWPORT, R.I. - Salve Regina University senior Kerri Beland (Attleboro, Mass.) scored a second-half layup for her fourth point of the game and 1,000th of her career. Unfortunately, the Seahawks trailed throughout a 53-37 loss to the visiting Golden Bears of Western New England University in Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) women's basketball action at the Rodgers Recreation Center.

Three Golden Bears (16-7, 10-4 CCC) scored in double figures led by a game-high 14 from junior Meghan Orbann (East Hampton, Conn.). Salve Regina (9-14, 5-9 CCC) was led by junior Torie Scorpio (Cranston, R.I.) who finished with 13 points.

Series and Streaks
The Golden Bears lead the all-time series, 15-10, but the Seahawks had won two of the previous three meetings including the first meeting of this season (51-50 on Jan. 10, 2019) and last year's meeting on the Rodgers Recreation Center floor (65-62 on Jan. 27, 2018). Western New England has a season-long seven-game win streak.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Western New England junior Meghan Orbann (East Hampton, Conn.) made five of 11 from the floor including both 3-point attempts, a pair of free throws, for a game-high 14 points. Shee added eight rebounds, two assists, and two steals.
  2. Salve Regina junior Torie Scorpio (Cranston, R.I.) made five of 14 field goals and three free throws to finish with 13 points. She had a game-high five assists along with team-best six rebounds.
  3. Western New England junior Courtney Carlson (Woodbury, Conn.) equalled Orbann's game-high rebound total (eight) and added 11 points.

Key Stat of the Game
Western New England owned a 46-31 advantage on the boards (14 offensive, 32 defensive) and had 11 second-chance points.

Turning Point
Scorpio closed the opening quarter with a driving layup to make the score 15-9 in favor of the Golden Bears. Beland scored her 1,000th point on the first Seahawk possession of the next period and Salve Regina trailed by just four. Classmate Lauryn Becker (Hanover, Mass.) made a layup for the only other Seahawk points in the quarter as Western New England outscored the home team, 17-4.

Quick Hits

  • Emily Farrell (New Fairfield, Conn.) scored 12 points on three of 12 from the floor and six of nine free throws.
  • Salve Regina outscored Western New England, 15-11, in the third quarter.
  • Western New England held the lead for 39:25 after scoring the game's first points.
  • Mary Rorke (Norton, Mass.), Brooke Vonasek (Willington, Conn.), and Beland all hit from deep for the Seahawks.
  • Golden Bears missed a dozen free throws (17-29).

Next Up
Salve Regina (9-14, 5-9 CCC) makes its final road trip of the regular season on Saturday, February 9, to play Gordon College in Wenham, Mass. Western New England (16-7, 10-4 CCC) hosts Endicott College on Wednesday, February 13.